Shakti, Paresh recalled in national squad

Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) announced final 14 players on Wednesday for the ICC World T20 Qualifiers to be held in the UAE from March 13 to 23.

The CAN recalled spinner Shakti Gauchan and opening batsman Paresh Lohani into the national squad.

Lohani had pulled out his name from the team for the Pepsi World Cricket League Division 5 held in Kathmandu in February 2010 citing personal reasons. Lohani hadn’t featured in the national team ever since. Gauchan was dropped from the national squad during the Guangzhou Asian Games 2010 and ACC T20 Cup held in Kathmandu on last December.

Meanwhile, opener Subash Khakurel, batsman Binod Bhandari, pace bowler Abinash Karna and spinner Rahul BK are considered only as reserve players.

The 14-member squad under the captaincy of Paras Khadka includes Gyanendra Malla as vice-captain.

Pace bowler Chandra Saud and Krishna Karki are the two new faces in the national squad.

Likewise, Sharad Vesawkar, Prithu Baskota, Mehboob Alam, Anil Kumar Mandal, Sanjam Regmi, Amrit Bhattarai, Basant Regmi, Pradeep Airee are also in the team.

5 Responses

  1. Who is weeketkeeper among these 14 player

  2. Sandip Rajbhandari says:

    Good selection!!!

  3. pradeep says:

    finally got rid of khakurel….he seems not just good enough batsman…..shakti should play lower down the order as a spinner along with basanta regmi….alam at 7 and other two pacers would be amrit and krishna i think….prithu may not be in the starting 11

  4. Suraz Shakya says:

    This is all what Coach had.Seems balance team.

    Hope for the best .let see how they sharpen their skills from Mumbai Tour..