Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has annouced a 14-member senior team led by Binod Das for the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) Fast Track Countries Tournament match against Singapore here today.

Nepal is scheduled to play Singapore in the three-day match from April 22 to 24 in Singapore. The team annouced today has three changes from the last senior team that played in the World Cup Qualifying Series II in Malaysia where Nepal lost to Fiji in the semifinal by three runs.

Those who failed to find a place include off-spinner Sanjam Regmi and left-arm orthodox Lakpa Lama while Sarad Vesawkar missed the squad because he is recovering from the illness that forced him to withdrew from the Malaysia tour.

Mahesh Chhetri, the young batsman who scored a century in practice match for Nepal B, spinner Raju Basnyat and Manjeet Shrestha, whose injury paved the way for Dhirendra Chand in WCQS II, are also named in the team. Other members include vice-captain Shakti Guachan, Raj Kumar Pradhan, Kaniska Chaugai, Yunil Shrestha, Paras Khadka, Paresh Lohani, Mehboob Alam, Dipendra Chaudhary and Manoj Vaishya.

Four alternatives named for the team are Yashwant Subedi, Basant Regmi, Prem Chaudhary and Ratan Rauniyar. Arun Aryal has been named coach of the side while Sashi Raj Subedi and Man Kaji Shrestha will act as manager and assistant manager.

Singapore Annouces Team

Meanwhile Singapore has also annouced the team for the match against Nepal. Singaporean team includes Buddhika Mendis (Captain), Pramodh Raja, Shoib Razzak, Glen Meyer, Christopher Janik , Riaz Altaf, A N Balaji, Sajith Sivanandan, Ram Prasad, Tham Shu Chua, James Muruthi, Rizwan Nasir, Zubin Shroff and Iftekhar Haider.

Last year, the ACC FTCT 2004 match between the two teams produced no results. Buddhika Mendis scored the century in the match. Brief Score: Nepal 260 all out (Sarad Vesawkar 51, AN Balaji 5/71) & 203/9 (Sarad 38, AN Balaji 4/38) drew with Singapore 227/9 (Buddhika 110, Sanjam Regmi 3/40) & 87/0.