Rohit Kumar Paudel has been inducted in the 14-men squad for the upcoming ICC World Cricket League Division 2 slated for February 8-15, 2018 in Namibia. 

The U19 middle order batsmen was in a rich form during recently concluded Everest Premier League (EPL) and his performance is rewarded with a spot in Paras Khadka-led squad.

In EPL 2017, Batting as a finisher for Bhairahawa Gladiators, Paudel played memorable innings against international bowlers twice his age bailing his team from tricky situations to victory.

“I am very happy, obviously,” he told Republica daily. “I always take one match at a time. I know it is difficult to prepare knowing that there are not many selection matches happening in Nepal, but I don’t think much and only concentrate on the match I am involved in.”

“My role is to finish the match. I have been given the same responsibility in current camp and will be doing the same if given a chance in Division Two,” said Paudel. “Our sole goal is to win Division Two. We are positive and believe we can qualify.”

Along with Rohit, his young teammate Anil Kumar Sah also made his place for second successive tournament after covering up for Dipendra Singh Airee in the second match against the UAE in WCLC last December. Sah, yet to make his debut will be hoping his run of form will be rewarded with the first cap.

“All the coaches and seniors I worked and played with have helped me to get here. All the tournaments I played, EPL, DPL and U-19s helped me improve my game. I feel lucky to be involved with the national setup in a short span of time,” Sah told Republica daily. “Kalam Ali and Binod Das have been crucial in my development by helping me train at the Nepal Cricket School and Velocity Arena during no tournament days.”

Along with youngsters, veteran Shakti Gauchan and Basant Regmi are also in the squad. Regular pacers Karan KC and Sompal Kami are joined by Lalit Singh Bhandari. Skipper Paras Khadka, Vice captain Gyanendra Malla, Sharad Vesawakar, Md. Arif Sheikh and Dilip Nath complete the batting roster. Nath, who is the only regular wicketkeeper in the team, is expected to open the innings with Malla.

Among the reserves are Sunil Dhamala, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi, Siddhant Lohani and Kishor Mahato.

The selection was made from the 21 member preliminary squad which trained for about three weeks. The three member selection committee comprised of Skipper Khadka, Coach Jagat Tamata and ICC Representative Aminul Islam. Three players – Rashid Khan, Dipesh Shrestha and Sushan Bhari failed to make the cut.

The team will leave for UAE on 27th January where they will play three friendly matches. Team will travel to Namibia on February 4 before taking on hosts in the first match.


  1. Paras Khadka (Captain)
  2. Gyanendra Malla (Vice Captain)
  3. Shakti Gauchan
  4. Basant Regmi 
  5. Sharad Vesawkar 
  6. Sompal Kami
  7. Karan KC
  8. Md. Arif Sheikh
  9. Sandeep Lamichhane 
  10. Dipendra Singh Airee
  11. Dilip Nath
  12. Lalit Bhandari
  13. Anil Kumar Sah
  14. Rohit Kumar Paudel