The International Cricket Council (ICC) Board on October 20 unanimously approved a new qualification pathway for men’s 50-over World Cup at the conclusion of a week of meetings in Singapore.

From 2019, a new simplified 50 over league-based qualification structure for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, will be introduced that will see the amount of cricket played as part of the Road to India 2023 rise to 372 matches across a 2-3 year qualification period.

From 2019 onwards, the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup qualification process will look as follows:

Cricket World Cup Super League: 12 full members and the Netherlands to compete; Starts in May 2020 for two years; total 156 matches with 24 ODIs per team; 7 top teams plus the host qualify to the Cricket World Cup 2023; Bottom 5 teams to CWCQ 2022.

Cricket World Cup League 2: 7 Associate nations (ranked 14 to 20 currently Scotland; Nepal and UAE + top 4 teams from WCL Division 2); Starts in July 2019 for 2.5 years; total 126 matches with 36 ODIs per team; Top 3 teams to CWCQ 2022 and Bottom 4 teams to CWCQ Play-off.

Cricket World Cup Challenge Leagues: 12 teams (6 each in two groups); from August 2019 to 2021; winner of each group progress to CWCQ Play-off.

2023 Men’s Cricket World Cup
1: India Confirmed participant: India (hosts)
7: Top 7 teams from CWC Super League
2: Finalists of CWCQ 2022

CWCQ 2022 teams
Total 10 teams
5: Bottom-ranked four teams from CWC Super League
3: Top-ranked three teams from CWC League 2
2: Finalists of CWCQ Play-Offs 2022

CWCQ Playoffs 2022 teams
Total 6 teams
4: Bottom-ranked 4 teams from CWC League 2
2: Winners of two groups of Challenge Leagues

How can Nepal qualify to the World Cup 2023?
1. Finish top three in the CWC League 2; reach final of the CWCQ 2022.
2. If not among top three of the CWC League 2, then reach two finals – of the WCWQ Play-off 2022 and CWCQ 2022.